Have you ever heard of The Seven Deadly Sins? One of them maybe? It could be from your church, your parents’ nagging, or even anime (Nanatsu no Taizai). Do you still remember each one of them?

They are pride, wrath, lust, envy, gluttony, sloth, and greed.

Is there any one of you that is considered hot-headed, lazy, glutton, a fatso-looking, etc. by those around you? If so, then it just means you’ve lost to your sins and become “an incarnation of it”, or something like that. It’s not like it’s totally bad or weird, but it would be better if you could defeated it, wouldn’t it?

The seven deadly sins are not sins that you have or do later when you grow up, but it is rather something you brought from birth. You can say that the seven deadly sins is what makes humans called humans (in personality or spiritual terms). It was believed that these sins is the origin of sins human will do in his/her life. In other words, they are the seeds of all your sins in life.

When someone told you to face or defeat “yourself”, I think it actually means the sins. These sins is not a very big deal in most cases in reality, but it is still very hard and almost impossible to defeat.

The seven deadly sins, also known as the capital vices or cardinal sins, is a grouping and classification of vices of Christian origin. It was also said that the seven deadly sins is the sins that Adam and Eve do as they were committing the crime of eating the forbidden fruit and banished by God from the Garden of Eden.

Since it is in every human’s nature, the seven deadly sins is not just found in Christian religion, you can also find it as ancient precedents in Greco-Roman antecedents. You can also find it and every religion, be it in Islam, Buddhism, or Hinduism. The only difference is just in how they mention it or maybe how you find it.

The current seven deadly sins was not found as such in The Bible. But there are biblical antecedents of it. In the Book of Proverbs 6:16-19, among the verses traditionally associated with King Solomon, it states that the Lord specifically regards “six things doth the LORD hate: yea, seven are an abomination unto him”, namely:

  1. A proud (vain) look
  2. A lying tongue.
  3. Hands that shed innocent blood
  4. A heart that deviseth wicked acts
  5. Feet that be swift in running to mischief
  6. A false witness that speaketh lies
  7. He that soweth discord among brethren

It was also mentioned in Epistle to the Galatians (Galatians 5:19-21). It includes more of the traditional seven sins, and the list is substantially longer.

Humans have been thrown into chaos from time to time by it. These sins (even with just one of them) have caused so many distresses, separations, conflicts, and even war, from small to large scale. And this is also the reason why defeating the sins is very important.

The seven deadly sins are the source of “it” and you are the one who in control of it.

The way to defeat these sins is different for every person. As you are different from others, so is your sins and how you fight it. Even if there’s similarity, there will always be a difference somewhere.

In most cases, you actually already know the way to defeat it, but it’s hard for you to do it. In this case, you should strengthen your will to defeat it. You have to have a very strong reason, especially if you try to fight the sin that is so dominant in your life, like laziness for example.

You can also fight it by literally changing the way you think in regard of it. Or just misdirect it in different direction, like “I’m too lazy to cheat” or “I’m too lazy to angry” for example. I say this kind of act is trying to make a good use out of the seven deadly sins.

I know that it is hard, and we might not be able to keep it up in check every time. But it’s still worth a try. You’ll never know until you actually try it for real after all. So then, try to find the seven deadly sins in you, especially the dominant one, and good luck!!..

“As thou cannot erase, thou can only fight”


    • Babies haven’t done any sins because they doesn’t know that kind of things yet. It’s true that babies doesn’t have sins such as pride and lust. But by saying “it is something you brought from birth”, I’m not applying it as you have done the sins since you were a baby.
      In other words, these sins is like blue prints in your DNA that makes you can do the sins later in your life as you grow up. You have it in your body since birth. You haven’t done the sins as a baby, you have it printed in your DNA as a baby, like a seed that haven’t grown yet.

      Therefore, I am sorry to say that I couldn’t provide you with an example as such since a baby can’t do neither of them yet